Tan Sri Zamzamzairani is new Maybank Chairman

Photo by MZR Global Sdn Bhd.

Heartiest congratulations to Tan Sri Zamzamzairani bin Mohd Isa (C’77, Mohd Shah) on his appointment as the new Chairman of Malayan Banking Berhad (Maybank).

A respected and well-known corporate figure, Zamzamzairani’s vast experience in the telecommunications industry spans more than 30 years, beginning in Telekom Malaysia Bhd (TM) where he served for 13 years before assuming key positions in several multinationals such as Global One Communications and Lucent Technologies (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd, where he was Chief Executive Officer.

In 2005, he returned to TM as Senior Vice President, group strategy and technology and was promoted to Chief Executive Officer, Malaysia Business, before being appointed as the Group Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director in April 2008 until his retirement from TM on 30 April 2017.

Zamzamzairani holds a Bachelor of Science in Communications Engineering from United Kingdom and had completed the Corporate Finance, Strategies for Creating Shareholder Value programme at Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, United States of America. He also attended the Strategic Leadership Programme at the University of Oxford’s Saïd Business School and the IMD CEO Roundtable at Lausanne, Switzerland in 2013.

Under his leadership, TM launched and successfully rolled out the high speed broadband service in 2010, in a historic collaboration with the Government of Malaysia.

He was awarded the Business Person of the Year 2015 at the Asian Academy of Management International Conference, organised by Universiti Sains Malaysia in October 2015.

He was also named CEO of the Year 2015 at the Minority Shareholder Watchdog Group’s Annual Corporate Governance Awards ceremony held in December 2015. He was conferred a special individual award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Industry’ at the 2017 Frost & Sullivan Malaysia Excellence Awards and accorded the prestigious Telecom CEO of the Year at the 20th Telecom Asia Awards 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here